Steve Parks – Adept Developer

Business Technology Consultant

  • Calendar

    April 2009
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Pages

  • Archives

Uh… this wasn’t what I had in mind when I went fishing.

Posted by adeptdeveloper on April 30, 2009

Ok, so, today Gus and I went fishing on a small 20 ft boat right off the West Bay / West End coast line of Roatan.  We really wanted to catch a wahoo and I think we did, but the line went loose after a few minutes.  We were bummed cause that was the second time that happened in 15 minutes, but all of the sudden the line went tight again and Gus was reeling it in.  I had the video camera in one hand and was filming the whole thing.  After 10 minutes, the fish was close enough for me to see through the crystal clear water and to my amazement we had a shark on the line!

He was probably about 4 feet long and roughly 60 pounds.  After Gus got tired, I finished reeling him in.  In all, it probably took us 20-25 minutes.  Our guide was a little scared too and we had to get the shark on the boat and kill it, because he wasn’t going to live with the huge bait in it’s mouth and none of us were going to stick our hand in his mouth.  We drew a big crowd in front of the Mayan Princess when we posed with our catch.  Nobody was really sure what kind of shark it was, but after looking online and some different pictures, could it be a young Tiger Shark?  The top part of it’s Tail Fin is much longer than the bottom part.  Although, from what I understand this is often times the case.  It’s probably just some type of reef shark, but if anyone has a better guess let me know.

Oh, yea, my face was a little red after Cayos and fishing.

Leave a comment